A torus and a cube with holes

kraal en kubus

When I made the double torus that Wilfred asked for, I thought about other torus-like shapes. For example a ball with a hole drilled through it, like a bead. And what would a bead like that look like if you drilled more holes through it, one from top to bottom, one from left to right, and the last one front to back? Or more to the point, what would its surface look like?

That was a bit hard to imagine exactly, so I decided to make one to find out. And I figured I wouldn’t worry about making it nice and spherical, but concentrate instead on the three ‘tunnels’ that meet in the center. I started with one of the faces, worked my way in, turned left and then outward to another face, joined the two faces on the edge, continued with the third, and so on.

(I tried to write down the procedure in more detail, but then I should have made some pictures along the way to make it a bit clear… if you want to make one yourself, try figure it out from here! :-))

Larger pictures are below the fold.

Here is the cube-with-holes in more detail…

kubus

And this is the bead.

kraal

I really like the reflection on the table in this picture.

  1. Ling

    oh my god, how did you do that?
    was it difficult?
    can you show me the steps of making it?
    thankyou!

  2. Well…

    The cube was difficult, mostly because it’s small and there’s not much room in the center where the different ‘faces’ meet. Probably the most difficult part of the bead was to figure out how much stitches I needed to add and skip to get the outside nice and round.

    I didn’t make any pictures during the process, so I can’t exactly show you how to do it. But my advice would be: start with the bead, and for that, start with the inside, the drilled hole if you like. It’s just a straight cylinder, so nothing fancy there. When it’s long enough, keep on crocheting but start adding stitches in every round (I don’t know what word to use here… hope you understand!), about six in the beginning to get a flat top, then less and less to make the curve. When the outside has half the number of rounds as the inside you’ve reached the middle of the cylinder, so now start skipping stitches to let the outside wall curve back to the center. With the very last round of stitches you join the outside and inside.

    I hope this helps…

    As I said, with the cube I started on the outside, basically I made one sixth at the time, a square face with the tube connected to it. It’s pretty hard to explain it all in just words, I might make some drawings at a later time.

    Do let me know when you’ve tried!

  3. Pingback: Cube in crochet « Qulog 2.0

  4. Wow – these are amazing! Fantastic! Something else I’ll have to try myself.

Reacties zijn gesloten.